Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 6th, 2008

Greetings,

My name is Ananda Wilson and I am honored and excited to be stepping into the role of Homeschool Program Coordinator at Great Hollow in New Fairfield, CT.

Many of you already know me from Great Hollow as either the botany teacher for Friday’s programming or as part of the Homeschool Learning Cooperative (aka homeschooling Mom). A few of you may know me as a dance teacher and performing artist. Otherwise, let me introduce myself and invite you to join a conversation about the future of this unique and valuable program.

I have two children: a son of 9 years and a daughter of 11 years. My own children, coupled with my deep passion for plants and nature, are my motivation to help make the Whole Earth programs dynamic. We have been able to bond with respectful, authentic friends and mentors. We have been given the room to be ourselves and to grow. Great Hollow has been an anchor for my family.

Therefore, I come to you in service and in the spirit of community. I am picking up reins that are already in a gallop. I know full well that I cannot do this alone and so I reach out to all of you and the collaborative effort that will make us a whole greater than the sum of its parts.

There are many levels of attention that the programs require in order to keep them running – and running well. There have been some growth spurts and some growing pains, as the beauty emerges and the kinks erupt for revision. Overall, the program has seen tremendous fruition; an expression of our intrinsic need to deepen our relationship with and learn about nature as well as a reflection of our power as homeschoolers.

My intention for Great Hollow, if it may be put into a nutshell, is to maintain this sanctuary as our HeartBeat — where we come week after week, month after month, year after year, to build our layers of knowledge, self and community. Where we can build long term ecological projects, learn about the Earth, build lasting friendships and make meaningful memories. Where we are able to examine and absorb information in the most supportive and natural way imaginable.

There are traditions at Great Hollow. There are many things that students and parents count on to remain secure and yet there is much room for us to grow and renew. I look forward with great joy to this coming year of Whole Earth Homeschooling fun and learning. I look forward to working with you all and to hearing from you!

Sincerely,
Ananda Wilson

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.
Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.
The winds will blow their own freshness into you…
while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.”       
~John Muir~

Read Full Post »